Calendar

Find out about important dates, holidays and family events for the 2017 – 2018 calendar year at the Washington University Nursery School. Download a printable version.

*Denotes family/parent events

August, September

August 30 (Wednesday)
5:30 p.m. – *Family Picnic at Shaw Park

August 30, 31, September 1 (Wednesday, Thursday, Friday)
Staff Orientation

September 5 (Tuesday)
*Orientation for all parents and children
(See orientation schedule)

September 6, 7 (Wednesday, Thursday)
Orientation for children
(Half of the class will attend on either day)

September 8 (Friday)
Start of regular school hours for all children

September 11 (Monday)
First day of Bear Tracks (afternoon program)

September 12 (Tuesday)
First day of Bear Tracks (morning program)

September 27 (Wednesday)
*WUNS Family Play Date, 3:15 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
MySci Investigation Station

October

October 5 (Thursday)
School Photos

October 13 (Friday)
NO SCHOOL – Professional Development Day

October 14 (Saturday)
11:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. – *Open House for all classes and families

October 26, 27 (Thursday, Friday)
NO SCHOOL – Parent conferences

October 31 (Tuesday)
*Halloween celebration

November

November 17 (Friday)
*Day for dads, grandparents, relatives and friends

November 22, 23, 24 (Wednesday, Thursday, Friday)
NO SCHOOL – Thanksgiving holiday

December

December 19 (Tuesday)
LAST DAY OF SCHOOL before Winter Recess

January

January 4 (Thursday)
First day of school for 2018

January 15 (Monday)
NO SCHOOL – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

February

February 14 (Tuesday)
Valentine’s Day celebrations

February 15 (Thursday)
*Family Night at the Magic House

February 16 (Friday)
NO SCHOOL–Professional Development Day

February 16 (Friday)
NO SCHOOL–Professional Development Day

February 19 (Monday)
NO SCHOOL–President’s Day

March

March -TBD
*Parent Social and Fundraiser

March 19 – 23 (Monday – Friday)
NO SCHOOL – Spring Break

April

April 6 (Friday) 
NO SCHOOL – Teacher Conference Prep

April 19, 20 (Thursday, Friday)
NO SCHOOL – Parent conferences

April – TBD
3:15 – 5 p.m. – *WUNS Family Play Date
St. L. C. H. helmet check

May

May 4 (Friday)
*Day for mothers, grandparents, relatives and friends

May 8 (Tuesday)
*School Picnic at Shaw Park

May 16 (Wednesday)
LAST DAY OF SCHOOL

May 17, 18 (Thursday, Friday)
Staff meeting, year-end assessment and classroom clean up