Find out about important dates, holidays and family events for the 2021 – 2022 calendar year at the Washington University Nursery School. Download a printable version.

September, 2021

September 1 (Wednesday)
*Popsicles on the WUNS playground–Back to School Social

September 1, 2 and 3 (Wednesday, Thursday and Friday)
Staff Orientation

September 7 (Tuesday)
*Orientation for all parents and children
(See orientation schedule)

September 8, 9 (Wednesday, Thursday)
Orientation for children: half of the class will attend either day

September 10 (Friday)
Start of regular school hours for all children

October

October 2 (Saturday, 11:00 am – 1:00 pm)
*Open House for all classes and families

October 6 (Wednesday)
School Photos

October 14 (Thursday, 3:15 pm – 5:00 pm)
*Family Play Date, WUNS Playground

October 15 (Friday)
NO SCHOOL – Professional Development Day

October 21, 22 (Thursday, Friday)
NO SCHOOL – Parent Conferences

October 29 (Friday), 10:45 am and 2:15 pm
Halloween Parade

November

November 19 (Friday)
*Donuts with a Grown-up (Special Guest Day)

November 24, 25, 26 (Wednesday, Thursday, Friday)
NO SCHOOL – Thanksgiving holiday

December

December 17 (Friday)
LAST DAY OF SCHOOL before Winter Break

January, 2022

January 4 (Tuesday)
NO SCHOOL–Teacher Work Day

January 5 (Wednesday)
First day of school 2022

January 17 (Monday)
NO SCHOOL – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

February

February (TBD) Thursday, 6:00 pm – 8:00 pm
*WUNS Family NIght at the Magic House

February 14 (Monday)
Valentine’s Day Celebration (Students only)

February 18 (Friday)
NO SCHOOL–Professional Development Day

February 21 (Monday)
NO SCHOOL–Presidents’ Day

February TBD (Saturday)
*Parent Social

March

March 21 – 25 (Monday – Friday)
NO SCHOOL – Spring Break

April

April TBD
*WUNS Family Play Date, 3:15 pm – 5:00 pm (WUNS playground)

April 8 (Friday) 
NO SCHOOL – Teacher Conference Prep

April 14, 15 (Thursday, Friday)
NO SCHOOL – Parent conferences

May

May TBD 5:30 pm
*School picnic at Shaw Park

May 6 (Friday) 10:45 am and 2:15 pm
Donut with a Grown-up (Special Guest Day)

May 18 (Wednesday)
LAST DAY OF SCHOOL

May 19, 20 (Thursday, Friday)
Staff meeting, year-end assessment and classroom clean up

*Asterisked items denote family/parent events.